Rhubarb Upside-Down Cake

This week our Tuesdays with Dorie group is celebrating Spring and baking with rhubarb. It is that time of the year when we are drawn to lighter tasting desserts and indulging our sweet teeth in fruit-based baked goodies is a must.

rhubarb uspide down

The recipe is by contributing baker Johanne Killeen and yields eight baby cakes, each four inches in diameter or one large twelve inch cake. After an energy draining debate with myself, I decided against the purchase of eight new pans and baked one eight inch cake. Had to tweak the recipe and that involved some college-level calculus. Here is the problem, in case you are wondering:

If a recipe yields eight one-inch cakes and you are to bake one eight-inch cake, how would you adjust the ingredients? Please convert to metrics and make sure that you account for the butter that is used to make the caramel sauce.

At the end I halved it and it worked! Well, not exactly…I used the original amount of rhubarb and walnuts and added some orange zest for extra oomph.

The surprise ingredient in the cake batter was crème fraîche. I decided to make my own following the instructions in Baking with Julia. After 24 hours of inoculating the whipping cream and yogurt, the crème was still liquid. Getting a little panicky, I shook the jar and decided to give it another 24 hours. In the meantime I bought a container of crème fraîche, just to be on the safe side…Let me tell ya, after 48 hours I had an amazingly thick crème fraîche and I was left wondering what to do with the store-bought one. Ooo, all the drama ! Another cake ? Any recommendations ?

crème fraîche

And I have left over rhubarb – should it be rhubarb chutney or rhubarb ginger ice cream ?

If you would like to feel Spring in your kitchen, please visit Erin who is the host for this week’s recipe.

 

14 thoughts on “Rhubarb Upside-Down Cake

  1. Cher says:

    Too much creme fraiche? There can never be such a thing. It’s great dolloped on soup or savory pancakes (any place you would use sour cream).

    Good math skills 🙂

  2. smarkies says:

    that is one lovely looking cake!
    another cake! this was great!

  3. Oooh, so, so yummy looking! I topped mine with creme fraiche, too!

  4. Teresa says:

    I’d be tempted to mix some with a little more vanilla and top the cake with it! Good job of downsizing the cake – it looks beautiful.

  5. that topping looks sticky and good! extra rhubarb and extra crème fraiche aren’t bad problems to have! 🙂

  6. SandraM says:

    Looks great!!! And kudos on making your own crème fraiche! Now rhubarb ginger ice cream sounds VERY interesting!!

  7. Cindy Harris says:

    You have way more brain power than I. Since I didn’t have the small pans I made half the recipe and made 6 muffins. They were much thicker so they baked longer and they were difficult to unmold. But..the taste was most excellent and I still think I need to buy those cute little pans!!

  8. Wow I am impressed with all the math calculations 🙂 I just put mine all in a big pan…seemed to work out ok haha! Yours looks great!

  9. That looks really gorgeous. Your rhubarb is nice and red. Your photo is fabulous!

  10. Cathleen says:

    Ooohh another cake with different toppings! Loved the base of this cake and for the extra rhubarb, if it’s not too hot in your area, how about an apple-rhubarb crisp! Yummm!

  11. Amanda says:

    I was a wuss and just used sour cream. Glad it all worked out! It looks perfect.

  12. galettista says:

    I was going to make home-made creme fraiche, then realized that I didn’t have time. I’d still like to try it though. Your cake looks delicious.

  13. Love your photography, your cake looks great. We used store bought organic sour cream for this recipe, but will definitely have to try making our own creme fraiche in the future.

  14. Very lovely looking rhubarb upside-down cake and with that dollop of homemade crème fraîche to gild the lily! Fabulous!
    Have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

