Mocha Chocolate Chip Cookies

This week our Tuesdays with Dorie baking group is all excited about using 1 (one!) pound of chocolate for a chocolate chip cookie recipe contributed by Rick Katz.

The story behind this cookie recipe is very sweet and when reading it I decided that this recipe will not be halved no matter the four dozen cookies it is supposed to yield. The more gluttonous reason was that I was also curious to try the combination of apricots and dark chocolate in a cookie.

Chocolate chip cookies are the most American dessert for me. Period. Move away apple pies and brownies! Since their incidental discovery in 1930s by Mrs. Wakefield and attributed to a Nestle chocolate bar falling off and shattering into an industrial mixer that was mixing dough for butter drop cookies, for cookie lovers rarely is there another recipe that is more dearly loved than the classic chocolate chip variety.

How come a cookie that is made by more or less staple kitchen ingredients such as flour, eggs, butter, sugar, leavening agents, and chocolate is sending cookie aficionados on “Find the Best Chocolate Chip Cookie Quest”? I admit – I am one of them and no matter how many new recipes I try, I am always on the look out for a new and better tasting cookie. Did I mention that we have picked to stay in a particular hotel just because they were serving chocolate chip cookies to their guests upon arrival?!

What’s exciting about this particular chocolate chip cookie recipe is that uses espresso powder to give the cookies their mocha flavor and also dried apricots. Oh, and did I say ONE POUND of chocolate?

The recipe stated that it would yield 48 cookies, I baked and counted 36 cookies. In the process of baking and counting, I was accused of secretly eating the missing 12 cookies. I am not admitting anything!

mocha_choco_chip_cookie

The cookies tasted better the second day after baking although when they were straight out of the oven it was fun to bite into the melting chocolate. The mocha flavor was really there! Unfortunately, the apricots became an unknown extra when staying beside the chocolate superstar. Also, they made the cookies very, very sweet… Walnuts or pecans would be a great substitution for the dried apricots.

And I used my own vanilla extract that I made by soaking vanilla beans in grappa for 4 months. Pure insanity flavor-wise!

vanilla

If you would like to add another chocolate chip cookie recipe to your baking arsenal, please visit Peggy of Galettista who is the host for this week.

19 thoughts on “Mocha Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Ckay says:

    I loved reading your interesting post and I am a huge fan of homemade vanilla extract. I use Wodka (intead of grappa) and last year I’ve make 3 liters (just to be sure I won’t run out 🙂 )

    These Mocha chocolate chips were a winner in our house…I’ve doubled the ingredients (with some changes), split the dough into 4 portions and added different ingredients (such as orange, pecan+walnuts, dried cherries, almonds): delicious!

  2. Your cookies look puffy and perfect! I need to make another batch of vanilla extract!

  3. That hotel comment is great. I´m in love with this recipe, apricots and all. Love your homemade vanilla with grappa! And the cookies look wonderful.

  4. I enjoyed your post…especially the comment about the hotel! haha! I too love a good chocolate chip cookie…so simple yet so delicious. I have a great recipe that everyone loves if you are interested. It uses ground up oatmeal in addition to flour…tastes like they come from a bakery! 🙂

  5. I’m baking mine today and I’m excited to see how they turn out! I use my own homemade vanilla too but I guess I am boring because I just used some vodka – grappa sounds much cooler!

  6. Cher says:

    I have never tried using grappa when I make my vanilla (I usually use rum or vodka – sometimes bourbon) – that is a great idea!
    Pecans would have made a great addition to these.

  7. Oh how I would love to make my own vanilla extract. I will have to try them in grappa. Thanks for the idea!

  8. saucygander says:

    Oooh home made vanilla, now you’re talking. Great post and great cookies. Mine went rogue, but were still delicious, even the apricot.

  9. Yum, yum! Love that you used homemade vanilla, too! 🙂

  10. SandraM says:

    Great post! I really enjoyed reading it. Great pic of your cookie….it looks yummy! I made mine with dried cherries instead, as I love the chocolate and cherry combo. (plus it is like a favourite Martha recipe I have) Also, I used three different chocolates, which I think helped temper the sweetness…a smidge. ;o) I love this cookie recipe.

  11. Amanda says:

    We really liked these. Reading your post made me glad I left out the apricots. You are so brave to try it!

  12. Jan Nilsen says:

    Your pictures are beautiful, especially the vanilla against the blue fence or wall.

  13. Fabulous looking cookie and what a fantastic idea to make your own vanilla extract – I always make my own vanilla sugar – should try to make the extract next time instead because it looks just wonderful.
    Have a good Wednesday!

  14. What a fun post! Sounds like a great experiment to make your own vanilla extract, definitely something to try in the future. Unlike you, we had problems with this recipe.

  15. That vanilla looks amazing! I need to try that. Your cookie is so gorgeous too. Nice and puffy!

  16. Elaine says:

    Cute post. Your cookies looks beautiful and I think walnuts or pecans would be so good in this recipe. I have never made my own vanilla, but it sounds delicious.

  17. Beth says:

    Great post and thanks for the background on chocolate chip cookies! I may have to consider making my own vanilla extract once i’ve used up my industrial-sized bottle of vanilla bean paste.

  18. Cathleen says:

    This was a great cookie! I only wished it had more of a mocha flavor. I thought the apricot was a nice contrast to the sweetness of the chocolate. Mine were on the tangy side.

  19. teaandscones says:

    While not a coffee lover I love what it does to baked goods.

Leave a Reply

