Croissants

It’s Complicated!

Watching Meryl Streep make croissants for Steve Martin looked so easy and classy!

This week our Tuesdays with Dorie baking group’s kitchens are experiencing a croissant epiphany after a three day baking project involving lots of butter, flour, dough rolling and folding.

Tackling croissants at home was a fussy, long-lasting, messy and intricate adventure. I did not even bother cleaning the kitchen counter. This is how it looked for 3 days:croissant_counter

A couple of years ago I made Mirelle Guiliano’s croissant recipe from French Women Don’t Get Fat. Now was the time to try the recipe by Esther McManus. I ended up with a compilation between the two recipes. Blame it on the lack of fresh compressed yeast! I used the proportions from Mirelle Guiliano’s recipe and the folding and shaping technique from Esther McManus’s recipe.

Now was my chance to make almond croissants for first time…Half of the dough was for almond croissants and the other half was for plain croissants. See, I was thinking that almond croissants will be for the breakfast and we can make sandwiches with plain croissants for lunch.

For almond croissants, I shaped them the night before and in the morning on Bake Day I brought them to room temperature for about an hour before putting them in the oven.almond_croissant

For plain croissants, I let the dough rest in the fridge overnight and shaped and proofed the croissants after we ate all the almond croissants 🙂 This was the better technique – the dough was easier to work with and the butter has worked its magic in all the dough layers. So next time I will stretch croissant baking over four days. This is a half-eaten plain croissant shot in eating action:plain_croissant

Word of advice: If you put the baking sheet with the proofed croissants on the stove, when preheating the oven, there will be butter and almond filling leakage.

croissant_leakage

If you would like to add extra buttery complexity to your life, please visit Amanda from Girls Plus Food who is the host for this week’s recipe.

Note:

For the dough: 1 cup milk, 2tsp active dry yeast, 2 ¼ cups plus 3 Tbs flour, 2 Tbs sugar, 1tsp salt, 12 Tbs butter.

For the glaze: 1 egg yolk mixed with 1 Tbs milk

14 thoughts on “Croissants

  1. I love the almond croissants! The oven proofing turned out to be a bad idea. They both look wonderful!

  2. Liz says:

    Beautiful results! I loved the almond ones 🙂

  3. Monica says:

    Your almond croissants look so lovely! I had a hard time with this one…

  4. Yeeps! I just used 1oz of active dry yeast so we’ll see how this turns out. That’s what I get for not reading the P & Q’s because I was on a trip! Yours look delish!

  5. Looks delicious! I will have to check out Mirelle’s recipe. I do have that book. Is it easier or harder or just different from this recipe?

  6. Mel says:

    Your croissants look beautiful!!! I love your pictures, the one with the croissant layers is amazing!!!!
    Well done!!!

  7. SandraM says:

    Great looking croissants! Looks nice and flakey!!

  8. Wonderful almond croissants – they look perfectly shaped and have a great color and the different layers of the dough look so flaky! Very nice!
    Have a great Wednesday!

  9. Cher says:

    Well done!
    It was a three day project here too.

  10. Great job! Almond croissants are a favorite, and yours look absolutely perfect. Can’t wait to give this recipe a try.

  11. Cathleen says:

    Loved that movie! Your croissants look perfect.

  12. Looks just beautiful! I skipped the 3 hour rise in the warm oven too. This was quite a marathon!

  13. saucygander says:

    Yum! The cross section of the plain croissant looks so buttery and flaky!

  14. Your croissants look great! Mine took three days too! I couldn’t believe they took so long…thankful that the end result made it worth it haha! I am going to take your advise and make some of my leftover dough into almond croissants…and a few chocolate 🙂

Leave a Reply

