Buttermilk Crumb Muffins

Coincidence or not today our Tuesdays with Dorie baking group is making Buttermilk Crumb Muffins and also the USA Presidential Elections are happening.

Would blog posting and commenting about muffins on Elections Day determine who is the winner? Are Presidential Candidates food preferences a contributing variable for obtaining electoral votes? If you are curious about these, please check the latest issue of the Food Network magazine.

Maybe we are part of a baking conspiracy. Is it Mitt Romney or is it Barack Obama who enjoys eating muffins? And I am talking about muffin tops and stumps and all, no matter if the butter is sinking to the bottom of the muffin.

Since the amount of oil and sugar in the recipe made me a bit uneasy, I had to attempt somehow a healthier version. I ended up using oats, half the sugar, ¼ cup of oil and applesauce in lieu of the vegetable shortening, dried pears and walnuts for some additional experimenting in food alchemy. The exact amounts are at the very end of the posting.

If you would like to get involved in Muffin-gate, please visit our Birthday Girl Alisa of Easier Than Pie who is the host for the recipe.

Note:

For the batter – 1 cup old fashioned oats, soaked overnight in 1 cup of yogurt; 1 cup flour; 1 cup light brown sugar; ½ cup apple sauce; ¼ cup grapeseed oil; 5 dried pears; spices; 2 eggs

For the topping – ½ cup coarsely walnuts, ¼ cup brown sugar, ½ tsp cinnamon, ½ tsp nutmeg

Despite my attempts on using less oil, this is how some members of our family enjoy their muffins…

9 thoughts on “Buttermilk Crumb Muffins

  1. I think your substitutions are amazing, and should taste wonderful! Have a great week!

  2. Jodi says:

    Ooh, I love your addition of walnuts.

  3. I really enjoy your little additions and substitutions.. and all your little chaanges sound lovely.. maybe i should have done something like this with mine!!

    Hmmm.. I read about the cookie competition between the two wives.. Mrs.O won that one.. so am intrigued to know more about muffingate!?!?! 🙂

  4. Your muffins look beautiful and I hope you don’t feel like I was ragging on you specifically with my comments on the butter/sugar content. I’m more of a “more is more” person but obviously healthy substitutions are healthy (and great looking in your case) – hope we can still be friends even though I am thoroughly coated in both butter and sugar and did not add any fruits or nuts 🙂

  5. Cathleen says:

    L O V E the look of your muffins! They sound wonderful. 🙂

  6. Elaine says:

    Ohhh, I love your substitutions. Your muffin looks wonderful.

  7. smarkies says:

    That muffin definitely looks delicious. Love your substitutions. I just stuck to the recipe and crossed my fingers and hoped for the best. 🙂

  8. jen says:

    Wow!!! Your muffins look amazing! It looks like it can be in a food ad. The walnuts look like they were individual placed on the muffin top! I’m guessing they taste pretty awesome too! Nice job!

  9. Your last picture cracks me up…even when we try for healthier, the family just doesn’t go for it sometimes huh!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

