Bagels

New York-style bagels and Montreal-style bagels are the two most popular styles of traditional bagels in North America. New York bagels tend to be puffy and salty and Montreal bagels are crunchy and honey-tasting. Mmmmmm! Yes, you can get New York-style bagels in Montreal and can you get Montreal-style bagels in New York.

According to Maxine, there are 212 varieties of bagels. Some of the most known are: poppy, sesame, garlic, onion, everything, chocolate chips, cinnamon raisin, whole wheat, rye, pumpernickel, blueberry, musli, jalapeno.

From Maxine.com

This week our Tuesdays with Dorie baking group is shaping bagels. The recipe is by the contributing baker Lauren Groveman. Considering the ingredients list, this recipe might be a hybrid of the most popular styles of bagels.

Little did I know that I was going to bake bagels couple of years after visiting and taking pictures at the bakery below. Can you recognize the place?

I used an overnight starter for extra flavor, bread flour because of its higher gluten content and I skipped the sugar and shortening in the dough. I did not glaze the bagels with egg whites but with water. I also had to bake the bagels at 425F for 20 minutes. Yes, I baked the most popular bagel flavor. Can you guess which one of the three?

If you would like to exercise your face muscles chewing bagels, please visit Heather at Heather’s Bytes who is the host this week.

Tip: I highly recommend the step-by-step instructions on how to make and shape bagels on the King Arthur Flour blog.

15 thoughts on “Bagels

  1. They look amazing! I used water too, no egg wash. And I love Maxine!

  2. whoa.. arent you a little treasure trove of bagel info!! :)) wow.. overnight starter.. can you send some over.. becuase they are looking fab!! My money is on sesame being the most popular.. is it???

  3. smarkies says:

    Those are some great looking bagels which you made. Thanks for all the information on bagels – 212 varieties – wow!

  4. Ferda says:

    Wow, your bagels look amazing..

  5. thekitchenlioness says:

    Love the picture of the St-Viateur Bagel bakery in Montréal, I was there a long long time ago and I adored their bagels – but yours look just wonderful too, the three different toppings all look delicious. So well done!

    Thanks also for taking the time to visit my blog!

  6. I didn’t recognize the bakery but I would like to visit!! 🙂 Loved all the information you gave about bagels. I baked my bagels for 20 min also…I think the egg wash turned them a little too brown…I think I like a more pale bagel. Will have to try water next time. 🙂

  7. Elaine says:

    Can you imagine making all those bagels?! That is a great photo. Your bagels turned out great and it is nice to know that you don’t need to brush them with egg white.

  8. Wonderful looking bagels! I loved the photo of the bagel bakery, too. I made twelve as well. We are a family of four and we all love bagels, so ten was not going to cut it in my house!

  9. Stephanie B says:

    Ahh, St Viateur, my favorite spot in Montreal for breakfast! 🙂

  10. Cathleen says:

    Beautiful! I skipped the egg wash. Topped them right after they came out of the water bath. I portioned my dough in 2-oz balls – made for a perfect size and yielded 24! Smaller than your regular bagel, but larger then a mini. Love this picture of the bagel “factory” – now that is a lot of bagels.

  11. Beautiful bagels!! Love the photo of the bagel factory….now that’s a lot of bagels!! Nice post!

  12. i wish i’d thought to get some sesame seed when i made mine…it’s my preferred bagel topping. i went to montreal last month…even though i’m a new yorker, i loved the bagels there!

  13. jen says:

    Haha! Maxine is hilarious! Your bagels look lovely. Is the most popular bagel, poppy? Yeah? Yay! Nailed it.

  14. Ckay says:

    Wow, I’ve never seen so many bagels in one place!

    Sorry I’m late!
    Tonight I’ve started this delicious „tour des blogs“ to see how the 85 bagels turned out and your looks delicious.
    I had great fun making and bathing and baking them and will remake them for sure.

  15. I’ve been there! Delicious bagels, that is St. Viateur Bagel!

Leave a Reply

