Blueberry Nectarine Pie

Summertime and the livin’ is easy… This week our Tuesdays with Dorie baking group is making a summer pie filled with sunshine!

All my summers growing up were spent in our summer house. We had a big veggie garden and a yard with grapevines, apple, pear, and plum trees. Once the plums were ready, my dad would assign me the task to pick all the fallen plums before I could go and play with my friends. It took a long time…

Since I was about to make the yearly trip to our summer house, I knew that the Blueberry Nectarine Pie would get transformed into a Plum Nectarine Pie. And it’s summer, so time to play!

My modifications did not stop there. I skipped the shortening for the Flaky Pie Dough and I made the pie crust with flour, butter, salt, apple cider vinegar and ice cold water. For the filling, I used nectarines and plums, scented with cinnamon and nutmeg and thickened with cornstarch.

This year Cowboy Dad picked the plums.

We enjoyed very much the sour and sweet fruit filling of the pie along with the cinnamon buttery crust.

And this was our vista buena:

Note: For the crust: 2 ½ cups flour, 2 sticks butter, 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp apple cider vinegar, 90 ml ice cold water.

For the filling: 3 cups nectarines, 3 cups plums, 1 tsp cinnamon, ½ tsp nutmeg, 1 tbs cornstarch, 1 tbp Cognac, lemon zest, ¾ cup sugar.

If you would like to rise up singing, please visit Liz of That Skinny Chick Can Bake and Hillary of the Manchego Kitchen.

14 thoughts on “Blueberry Nectarine Pie

  1. I have never had a plum pie! Im glad you enjoyed this recipe. It’s a winner!

  2. apple cider vinegar in the crust.. ad cognac and plums in the filling..i absolutely love the way you add a twist to the recipes.. brilliant!!

  3. Cher says:

    Gorgeous view & great pie!

  4. Ferda says:

    You definitely know how to modify a recipe 🙂 Your creation sounds great..

  5. I love the way your pie looks…so very pretty! And it sounds so delicious with plums and nectarines and the spices! Enjoy your vacation!!

  6. Plums! What a great idea! It looks really yummy.

  7. Great mods! Sounds delicious 🙂

  8. smarkies says:

    It is so great that you have plums picked fresh. The modifications sound delicious.

  9. Ckay says:

    WHAT A LOVELY PLACE!!!!
    I love plums pie and yours looks delicious…. hurray for “daddy” for helping 🙂

  10. Plum pies are fabulous. Such a treat, to be able to pick the plums straight off the trees. Great photos.

  11. Your pie looks beautiful!!! You always know how to modify recipes into something great! Thank you so much for posting my link last week!!! We were out of town so I was not able to do it so I really appreciate you taking the time to do it for me!! 🙂 THANK YOU!!

  12. Teresa says:

    Lovely variation! Pie is the perfect vehicle for summer fruit.

  13. Looks like a beautiful pie! Beautiful scenery too 🙂

  14. Marlise says:

    Your pie is so beautiful! And I love the plum combination. I have to try plums in more things. Great job!

Leave a Reply

