Hazelnut Biscotti

Biscotti are the original Italian dunking cookies that are baked twice so they could develop their crisp and crunchy texture. Found in coffee shops, fancy restaurants, supermarkets, and even as party favors at weddings, they seem to be taking over the world by storm these days.

1858 was the year when Antonio Mattei baked biscotti for a very first time in Prato, Tuscany. He used simple ingredients to create his signature cookie – Biscotti di Prato.

My adventures in biscotti making started with the traditional almond biscotti and over the years I have tried and tested a fair share of sweet and savory combinations. I like dipping the biscotti in coffee, tea, or wine and this is why when baking them, I do not use any fat.

The three favourite biscotti in our house are: walnut and cranberries, hazelnut and chocolate, and double dark chocolate. Since Alice Medrich, the Queen of Chocolate herself is the contributing baker for this week’s recipe of our Tuesdays with Dorie baking group, I could not resist adding  dark chocolate to the biscotti.

I used Curaçao Tripe Sec instead of Frangelico and I also added ¼ cup of cocoa-flavored malted milk powder to the dough. Once the cookies became biscotti – that is after they were baked twice – I dipped them in dark chocolate. The malted milk powder and the double doze of chocolate made these biscotti truly decadent!

I made the biscotti on the last day of the EURO 2012 and I was rooting for Italy. Alas, Squadra Azzurra could not take home the cup!

If you are a devout cookie dunker, please visit Jodi of Homemade and Wholesome and Katrina of Baking and Boys.

15 thoughts on “Hazelnut Biscotti

  1. I love the whole thing of dipping them in chocolate.. i almost always do that with most of my cookies!! i like the sound of your walnut and cranberry combination that you mention!!

  2. Cher says:

    Lovely picture & great flavor combos.
    These cookies were meant for dunking!

  3. jane says:

    Great additions, they look great.

  4. Que interesante con triple sec. No se usarlo mas que en margaritas! Lindisimas fotos!

  5. Oh I love the dipping in chocolate idea!!! I made chocolate chip biscotti…dipping would have been great! Love your blog and pictures 🙂

  6. These biscotti are made for dunking …Nice idea

    Ulrike @Küchenlatein

  7. bakewithamy says:

    beautiful! they look great

  8. Ferda says:

    Your biscotti look so delicious..

  9. Melissa says:

    These look delicious. And, personally, I think everything’s better with dark chocolate. 😉

  10. Teresa says:

    Wow! Your version sounds delicious. I live off Commercial Drive in Vancouver, BC, Canada. That’s our city’s Italian district. The final game of Euro 2012 took place on Canada Day, our national holiday, but in my neighbourhood, the Canada shirts were far, far outnumbered by Italia shirts. The Drive was a sad, quiet place after the game

  11. What a delightful combination! The idea of the cocoa malted milk powder sounds so yummy! Nice variation! Lovely photo!!

  12. Love the malted milk powder idea. Hmmmm. I have to try that in something now. Thanks for the great idea!

  13. Cathleen says:

    Malted milk powder! I forgot about that. Have not used it in ages. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

