French Strawberry Cake

I am not sure how it happened, but on Sunday I was finally able to buy local strawberries! Waiting with trepidation for the first berries to hit the market, I was so very disappointed when I tasted them. They were mushy and without any flavor whatsoever. Did I mention that they cost $6 per 1 lbs and are conventionally grown?! The air currents may have steered me towards the California strawberries and I am glad that I bought an extra 1 lbs.

Back to the cake…My version of the recipe is a yummy, light and creamy cake made with three layers of génoise, three layers of mascarpone whipped cream, and two layers of disappointingly tasteless BC strawberries macerated in mint-infused simple syrup.

Yes, I will make this cake again.  Hopefully, with better strawberries.

I baked the Perfect Génoise twice since the first time the cake deflated big time… I am not sure if this was my subconscious desire to follow Flo Baker’s recommendation on making a few génoises in succession in order to get the best training or else.

Here are my steps for making a génoise that could be actually cut into three layers instead of being a single densely sad looking layer. Please worry about doing the dishes after the cake is in the oven!

  1. Bring the eggs to room temperature and submerge in hot water for 5-10 min before beating up with the sugar and vanilla.
  2. Mix the vanilla with eggs and ½ cup of sugar.
  3. Once the eggs, sugar and vanilla mixture is tripled in volume, transfer to a shallow mixing bowl. Sift the cake flour and salt in three additions over the batter and mix super gently.
  4. After the melted butter is added to the batter, the batter should be immediately baked.
  5. If you put the cooled cake in the freezer for an hour or so, it is much easier to slice it into layers. I made the first incision into the cake with a serrated knife and then I used a thread to make the three layers.

After I sliced the hulled strawberries, I tossed them with mint-infused simple syrup made by boiling 1/3 cup of sugar, 1/3 cup of water, and ½ cup of fresh mint leaves for 2 min.

The cream was 1 cup heavy cream whipped with ¼ cup sugar and mixed with 200 gr mascarpone cheese and vanilla.

And a slice…

If you would like to go to the strawberry fields, please visit Sophia and Allison who are hosting this week’s recipe of our Tuesdays with Dorie baking group.

13 thoughts on “French Strawberry Cake

  1. Thanks for posting some tips! We will try this one again. The mint-infusion sounds wonderful!

  2. Looking at the first pic.. u’d never imagine those vibrant strawberries were tasteless.. but on the visual front.. ur cake looks great!! i like the idea of mascarpone cream…should have thought of it myself!!!!

  3. Cher says:

    Your cake came out beautifully – I would not have guessed at all that your berries were not all you hoped for.

  4. Good for you for making it twice. I, on the other hand, was a total baby and was too mad about my failed genoise to attempt it again before the post date. I know I will soon though, I can’t stand to be defeated by a recipe for too long. The mascarpone whipped cream sounds super yummy and the berries look beautiful, even if they weren’t bursting with berry flavor. You made a good-lookin’ cake my friend!

  5. Beautiful! And I’ll take a tub full of that mascarpone whipped cream, please! 🙂

  6. Ferda says:

    Your cake looks gorgeous.. Thanks for the tips.. Mine was that dense and sad cake you mentioned 🙂

  7. bakeawaywithme.com says:

    Your cake looks beautiful! Great photos! I also had to make a second cake…I think the recipe was off! Almost everyone had some problem with it.

  8. Melissa says:

    Sorry the strawberries didn’t taste better, but your cake looks beautiful. And the mint infusion sounds delicious!

  9. Love the berries piled on top!! Don’t worry – in a few weeks, it’ll be our turn to have field-ripened, super sweet, super succulent strawberries here in YVR… as soon as the sun comes out for more than a few hours at a time 😉

  10. Thanks for the tips..your cake looks great 🙂

  11. Cathleen says:

    Your decoration is stunning!

  12. Your picture looks great, even your strawberries, but I relate to your dissapointment of getting beautiful looking strawberries without much flavor. Same here. It´s a good thing the cake called for sugar to make a strawberry mash. In the end it´s the only way to eat this kind of strawberries, with sugar, cream and cake! Love the mascarpone idea.

  13. I’ve also struggled with finding good strawberries this year, so I’ve resorted to using frozen ones. As I love any recipe that involves mint, I’ll definitely be trying this one out.

Leave a Reply

