Oasis Naan

When my grandmother made bread, she would give me a small piece of dough to knead and work along her side. My bread was always round and flat and got cooked straight on to the burner. The best part was that I did not have to wait for a long time to eat it!

Little did I know that I was making naan…

Oasis Naan is a different story, though. It is still flat and round but with the added goodness of salt, green onions, and cumin or sesame seeds.

The dough is very forgiving, the spices used are open to interpretation and the naan could be prepared in a cinch. I started the dough at home and the rising of the dough was in the car on the way to a friend’s house for dinner. This is how this become the Traveling Oasis Naan. Not only that but we shared it with our bestest friend D. who travels around the globe and shoots amazing pictures of his voyages! And this is how the Oasis Naan turned into the Traveling Oasis Naan for the Traveler.

I served the naan with herb butter and tomato chutney. The recipe for the chutney is below just because it was simply lip smacking good with the fresh from the oven naan dusted with spices and grainy salt.

On my bucket list, trying a naan baked in a tandoor and buying a dough stamp…

 Tomato Chutney

Ingredients

1 onion, chopped
4 medium-sized tomatoes, chopped
1 green chilli, de-seeded and finely chopped
½ cup dark brown sugar
¼ cup balsamic vinegar
1 tsp salt

Directions

Mix all the ingredients and bring the mixture to boil. Simmer for 50 min or until most of the liquid has evaporated. Cool to room temperature and refrigerate until ready to serve.

If you would like to smack your lips, please visit Maggie and Phyl who are hosting this week’s recipe of our Tuesdays with Dorie baking group.

12 thoughts on “Oasis Naan

  1. Ckay says:

    Thanks so much for sharing the tomato chutney: it sounds delicious and I may try it the next time I’ll bake them, because I’ve found them so delicious that I will make them again, for sure.
    I did add some extra taste to mine.

  2. judy says:

    Your naan looks delicious.

  3. Cynthia L. says:

    Never thought of taking the dough on a road trip! Glad it worked out so well! I will have to remember that when invited to a friends house. Your photos are stunning!

  4. Looks like it turned out well.

  5. Cher says:

    Thanks for sharing the chutney recipe – I am sure it went really well with the travelling naan. 🙂

  6. The chutney sounds so yummy! Love the traveling naan…came out beautiful!

  7. Piebird says:

    Traveling naan, love it! and I’m impressed that you got such a beautiful result in a foreign oven! thanks for sharing your tomato chutney recipe; I’ll have to try it when our tomatoes come in!

  8. tremendous naan bread! I’ve only attempted naan once yours looks perfect and very flavourful! im intrigued by the dough stamp!

  9. Great pics! Love teh Travelling Naan story!

  10. Alice says:

    what an awesome memory! isn’t it so cool when you realize you have been exposed to things like that as you grow older?? 🙂

  11. Your naan looks wonderful…such a rich color!!

  12. I’ve never made naan before, but I’ve been wanting to. This looks like a great recipe, thanks!
    It was fun meeting you at BlogHer Food in Seattle! Let’s do it again!

Leave a Reply

