Pecan Sticky Buns

Who is that man?!

He thinks of himself as “handsome, remarkably wise, and just plump enough – in fact a Man in his Prime”.

He has a propeller on his back and lives on the rooftop of an apartment building in Stockholm.

He is best friends with Lillebror and plays with him when Lillebror is lonely and needs to have a friend over.

He loooooooves cinnamon rolls and hot chocolate.

Of course, this is Astrid Lindgren’s Karlsson who lives on the roof.

Reading the recipe for the Pecan Sticky Buns, I felt a bit like Karlsson when he would complain about the amount of cinnamon used in his beloved cinnamon rolls. So I knew I had to make some adaptations in order to enjoy the recipe.

I followed the brioche dough recipe to the ‘z’ and I only added vanilla and the zest of one meyer lemon. For the filling, I used brown sugar instead of the white sugar, raisins soaked in rum, and increased the amount of cinnamon twelve times. For the topping, I substituted maple syrup for the brown sugar, reduced the amount of butter and could not resist not to add the rum, in which the raisins have been soaking for 24 hours.

If you would like to get the propeller on your back going in no time, please visit Lynn and Nicole who are hosting this week’s recipe of our Tuesdays with Dorie baking group.

Note: The proportions below are for half of the original Pecan Sticky Buns recipe.

Dough: Add 2 tsp pure vanilla and the zest of one meyer lemon when adding the sugar, salt, eggs, and 1 cup of flour to the dough.

Filling: Sprinkle the dough with a mix of 3 tbs brown sugar and 1.5 tsp cinnamon, and ½ cup of raisins soaked in rum, and the required amount of pecans.

Topping: Melt 1/3 cup maple syrup and 2 oz butter over medium heat. After the mixture comes to a boil, add the rum and boil for one minute.

I am not crazy about the brioche dough that we used in this recipe and I am still trying to decide if I would like to use it in the future or not.

18 thoughts on “Pecan Sticky Buns

  1. Ckay says:

    I remember watching Karlsson in TV when I was a child 🙂 Thanks for taking me down memory lane!
    Your picture is beautiful and the adaption soo delicious.
    Wonderful

  2. Cher says:

    Beautiful results & cute post.

  3. judy says:

    very yummy looking sticky buns. I took a pass this week. I’m still recovering from the Hungarian shortbread, which I loved but my arteries are begging for a break from all the butter.

  4. Lovely! I have never made brioche dough before..not sure I want to make it again:)

  5. Wendy says:

    Your changes sound delicious and the buns look great!

  6. my first comment got eaten up..
    anyhow.. absolutely adore the changes you ake with these recipes.. the lemon zest to the dough, the rum-soaked rasins in the filling and the rum to the topping… must have been excellent!! personally i loved the recipe… love your pic of the bun!!!

  7. Beautiful picture! I like your changes

  8. Kathy says:

    Gorgeous photo of a luscious looking bun! Nice job! I loved the addition of raisins soaked in rum…yum!

  9. Love the addition of maple syrup. Great idea 🙂

  10. Ferda says:

    Your additions to the recipe sound delicious.. Especially rom 🙂

    I am not impressed by the dough either, expected more from it..

  11. Teresa says:

    I love your tweaks – they sound decadent and grown up. I preferred the brioche recipe in Dorie’s Around My French Table to this one – it works perfectly and seems easier, somehow.

  12. Beautiful! Rum soaked rains and extra cinnamon both sound like good ideas to me.

  13. bevwinchester says:

    Love your post & the little man story- cute cute! Your sticky buns look scrumptious & your additions to the recipe sound yummy.

  14. Anna Luce says:

    Yours look super great! What a lovely picture

  15. I love the changes you made to the sticky buns. And your final picture looks beautiful. Great job!

  16. Melissa says:

    You had me at “raisins soaked in rum.” That sounds delicious!

  17. Beautiful photo 🙂

  18. petitplat says:

    Maple syrup and raisins soaked in rum? Yum! They look so good!!

Leave a Reply

