Hungarian Shortbread

The word of the day for our group of dedicated bakers is omlós. You guessed it right! This is Hungarian for shortbread.

My favorite childhood cake is Dobos torte but for a first time in my life I hear about a Hungarian shortbread… Reading the recipe I discover similarities with Mexican polvorones, Scottish shortbread, Austrian linzer plätzchen, and the technique in making the dough is the same as the one used in Russian тёртый пирог с вареньем. Hmm, maybe just another world recipe!

Listening to Johannes Brahms with his Hungarian Dances while baking led to a lusciously layered tangy and sweet shortbread. With rhubarb juice on a side, we are ready for spring to finally make its appearance.

For the rhubarb jam, I skipped the vanilla and water and I added the zest and juice of one meyer lemon, fresh and crystalized ginger, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Finely ground almonds and pure vanilla made their way into the shortbread dough.

If you would like to experience sweet tanginess firsthand, please visit Cher and Lynette who are hosting this week’s recipe.

Notes:

For the jam filling, I used the zest and juice of one meyer lemon, ½ tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp nutmeg, ½ inch peeled and shredded ginger, and 1 oz finely chopped crystalized ginger. I omitted the water and vanilla.

For the shortbread, I used 2 tsp pure vanilla and 1 cup peeled and finely ground almonds. The bottom crust was ½ of the dough and the top part – ¼ of the dough. From the remaining ¼ of the dough, I baked polvorones. More on them on Cinco de Mayo!

10 thoughts on “Hungarian Shortbread

  1. Kathy says:

    Such an interesting post! Love that you used part of the dough to make polvorones! They both look wonderfully delicious!

  2. Elaine says:

    The photos of your shortbread and polvorones are beautiful!

  3. I like how you spiced up your jam!! should have tasted good!! am more taken in with the polvorones than the shortbread!! 🙂

  4. Ferda says:

    Your jam sounds more interesting and delicious than the book’s.. I found the book’s version bland by itself, it improved while baking with tons of butter though 🙂

    Your polvorones look delicious!

  5. Wendy says:

    I like your cookie version! they look great.

  6. Cathleen says:

    I love your omission/additions to this recipe. Looking forward to your Cinco de Mayo post!

  7. The polvorones look so cute and dainty stacked up like that! I’ve never heard of that cookie before but it looks delicious!

  8. Cher says:

    Nice post – your shortbread and polvorones are both perfect.
    Thanks for baking along this week

  9. mmm these are right up my street! I love how versatile this recipe is too. THey look great sandwiched together too x

  10. Teresa says:

    The changes you made to the recipe sound fantastic! I’m going to have to check out your polvorones post, too. They look good.

Leave a Reply

