Lemon Loaf Cake

…Yesterday you told me ‘bout the blue blue sky
And all that I can see is just a yellow lemon tree
I am turning my head up and down
I am turning turning turning turning turning around
And all that I can see is just another yellow lemon tree…

Humming the Fool’s Garden song, I am ignoring the liquid sunshine on the West Coast and all that I can see is just a yellow lemon tree…

I think about the lemon tree that my aunt is growing in her yard. I remember our joy when the tree would harvest a single lemon with the most vibrant yellow color. Going to the tree and looking at the fruit would become like visiting a museum exhibit.

Lemons have always been special for me! Reading the recipe for the lemon loaf cake, I knew that I had to make some changes, to add that extra zing, that lemony oomph. Cardamom, roasted pistachios, and white chocolate did the trick!

With a whisk and a mixing bowl I went old school from start to finish.

If you would like to see the yellow lemon tree, please visit Truc and Michelle who are hosting this week’s recipe of our Tuesdays with Dorrie baking group.

This is a slice of the cake with my trio of add-on ingredients.

Note: I added cardamom, pure vanilla, Jamaican rum, and lemon juice to the cake batter. I increased the amount of baking powder to 1 teaspoon and reduced the amount of granulated sugar to 1 ¼ cup. I used 200 gr cake flour and 70 gr pistachios, roasted at 325F for 8 min and finely ground. Since I did not have heavy cream on hand, I opted for 2% milk. Melted white chocolate is on top.

You would need to use an aluminum baking pan for this recipe. If you are using glass loaf pan, you would need to decrease the oven temperature by 25 degrees or so.

22 thoughts on “Lemon Loaf Cake

  1. ahaaa.. Jamaican rum, cardamom, vanilla… you went all out…. wow… must have been quite something!!! can i have a piece please!!

  2. betsy says:

    I love how you dressed up this simple cake. Those lemon peel curls look so festive! And, my mouth is watering imagining the added cardamom. I adore cardamom. Thumbs up to your version of the lemon tree.

  3. I love the cute little swirls:) Your cake is lovely!

  4. judy says:

    The flavors in your cake sound amazingly wonderful and it looks just beautiful.

  5. Elaine says:

    I just love the spiral design you made with the lemon peel – so beautiful! What great additions as well. Also enjoyed the poem and yes, isn’t amazing how one little lemon can evoke so much happiness?! 🙂

  6. smarkies says:

    that fool’s garden song sure brings back memories!
    and your additions sure look interesting.

  7. berry lovely says:

    Your decoration is very pretty, and I bet it tasted really good with all the extras.

    On a side-note I nominated you for the Liebster blog award, go to my blog to check it out!

  8. jennrag says:

    Love the lemon rind swirls!

  9. Teresa says:

    Very beautiful presentation and your substitutions sound delicious!

  10. The lemon swirls on top of the cake look beautiful 🙂 …and yep, fellow Wet (I mean West) coaster here! 🙂

  11. that looks tasty! and i love those lyrics thank you for sharing x

  12. Wendy says:

    Your additions are genius! I love the way you decorated the loaf.

  13. petitplat says:

    I love your creativity, it’s right up my alley 🙂 And that fools garden song is one of my all-time favorites.

  14. Cher says:

    Oh, your cake is so pretty. Love all the additions.

  15. cookingjulia says:

    Your additions sound perfect. I thought the cake could have used a more complex flavor.

  16. oh I love your lemon swirls!!!!

  17. Piebird says:

    love your song. I remember a lemon bush (dwarf tree?) in our back yard, growing up in SoCal. sigh, no citrus here in Colorado. I ate a LOT of orange and grapefruit over the winter to try to make up for it.

  18. Ferda says:

    Your additions sounds great.. Beautiful cake..

  19. Wow! Your cake looks so lovely! You elevated a kind of ho-hum recipe to something really beautiful! Great job!

  20. what fabulous lemon swirls! how did you get them so perfect?

Leave a Reply

