Potato Lefse

Happy Tuesday! Potato Lefse by contributing baker Beatrice Ojakangas is on the menu today for our Tuesdays with Dorie baking group.

Call it childhood programming but I like my pancakes on Sunday. One of my favorite pictures of my mom is in our kitchen holding the crepe spatula :) I like crepes, I like pancakes and I looooove waffles! I can’t deny it but I am always up for experimenting and trying a new recipe. OK, I am getting up the couch and confession time is over…

potato lefse

If you are new to lefse, try not to get discouraged after reading an authentic Norwegian recipe and counting the number of rarely used kitchen utensils that you need to have in order to enjoy potato pancakes. Potato ricer, griddle, grooved rolling pin, lefse stick, and lefse cozy are all part of the lefse batterie de cuisine. Making the rich mashed potato-based dough is easy by using a potato masher for the potatoes, rolling pin for transferring the rolled out pancake to the pan, and a cast iron skillet to bake the lefse.

The lefse ingredients are easy to find in each kitchen: potatoes, butter, cream, sugar, and flour. If you feel like experimenting, try equal amounts of oat flour and all-purpose flour – it is really tasty, believe me!

IMG_3322

Transferring the lefse to the pan. You could still see tiny potato pieces in the dough.

Traditionally , lefse are enjoyed heavily buttered and sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. We enjoyed them for lunch with roasted eggplant and tahini dip, crumbled feta, green garbanzos, lettuce and tomatoes. Next day they still tasted good after being warmed up in a skillet. And I am not explaining why the peanut butter jar is e-m-p-t-y!

IMG_3333

More like a tortilla than a pancake but still good!

Here is Beatrice Ojakangas in action.

Happy Birthday, Dad!

9 thoughts on “Potato Lefse

  1. Thanks for your suggestions you gave me on the P & Q page…really helped! I agree…more like a tortilla than a pancake. :)

  2. Cher says:

    your lefse look delicious as wraps!

  3. Dawn says:

    Wonderful! My daughter wanted to take one to school today as a wrap, but they were gone after breakfast. ;)

  4. Margaret Williams says:

    Wow! Fantastic ideas for fillings!

  5. What a beautiful idea to use it with veggies! We’ve warmed our leftover lefse in the microwave and they work beautifully. Gorgeous photos!

  6. xpuctonet says:

    Looks nice, great work!

  7. SandraM says:

    What a great idea! Looks so yummy. Funny I only thought of sweet ideas, but this savoury idea is very appealing. Thanks for sharing that!

  8. Cathleen says:

    Peanut butter would be good! I do that with regular tortillas. I made a sandwich wrap as well. Pretty tasty! Yours looks and sounds delish!

  9. peanut butter– great idea! these look good, and I like that you used some oat flour.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

