Onion Bialys

Have you had a bialy before?

This week our Tuesday with Dorie baking group is exploring a culinary baked goodie from Bialystok, Poland. Similar to a bagel, the bialy has it’s own personality thanks to the sautéed onions that are sprinkled on top of this doughy roll.

onion bialy

So, here is my question. If we have one bialy, we should have more than one bialies. Or is the plural form an exception to the rule so we could always associate the bialy with Bialystok?

Back to onion bialys. The recipe is by contributing baker Lauren Groveman. And that sautéed onion makes all the difference. My husband keeps saying that when I start frying onions, he can’t think of anything else… We enjoyed the bialys for lunch slathered with veggie cheese spread (cottage cheese, greek yogurt, fresh veggies, spices, extra virgin olive oil) along with curried cauliflower soup. Comfort food, indeed!

onion bialy peek

I made half a recipe and we did not completely O. D.

Shortening is a major page-turner in a cookbook for me. The onions got sautéed in grapeseed oil and I also used some whole wheat flour. I washed the bialys with an egg white before heavily sprinkling them with poppy seeds.

8 thoughts on “Onion Bialys

  1. Your bialys look beautiful!!!
    I served them with a soup too!!
    Indeed, so comforting with a cold weather!!!

  2. Sunita says:

    Lovely looking bialys. I have a thing about shortening/butter too and try to sub with oil.

  3. Tammy says:

    I agree about the shortening — I’m starting to substitute butter or oil in most recipes now. I used butter in mine and they came out divine. (I’m a poet and I didn’t even know it.)

  4. Dawn says:

    Olive oil instead of shortening for me!

    I love your addition of poppy seed on top. So pretty!

  5. looks good–and the veggie cheese does, too! I agree about the shortening– I used grapeseed oil here.

  6. SandraM says:

    Looks beautiful with the extra poppy seeds.

  7. Cathleen says:

    Your sandwich looks fabulously delicious! Good call on giving the bialy an egg wash. Mine were quite dull looking, though delicious. I subbed olive oil for the shortening as well.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

