Double Chocolate Cookies

Come to the dark side, we have cookies!

As part of the Vancouver International Film Festival we watched a documentary about the life cycles in a very remote village in northwest Greenland. In Niaqornat, the Village at the End of the World, the population is only 59 predominantly Inuit people. It was fascinating to see and hear the stories of people whose traditions have been jeopardized by climate change and financial hardship and who despite all that have the spirit to keep going.

double chocolate cookies

During the permanent darkness of winter, the rhythm of life in the village became slower and affected people’s moods. It was a dark period! Watching TV did not seem to alleviate depression, but perhaps tons of chocolate would be a good medicine?

This week our Tuesdays with Dorie baking group is making cookies. The Double Chocolate Cookies by contributing baker Rick Katz might offer a temporary solution for those of you who are having trouble living in darkness during the long winter months. The recipe uses 16 oz of chocolate and makes twelve cookies! Since there was only a small amount of flour in the recipe, I subbed it for hazelnut flour. So the cookies became gluten free and had those lovely mocha chocolate Nutella flavors. Chocoholics Anonymous Unite!

The description that this is half cookie, half brownie sums it up great. The recipe could be found in Baking with Julia.

11 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Cookies

  1. Ckay says:

    They certainly made me forget how cold and foggy it was outside… I was on a kind of “chocolately trance”… When I recovered I immediately deep froze the rest of the cookies just to get them out of my sight: I’d have finished them in that evening ;-) (and probably would have landed in chocolate coma!).
    I added 100 g of sliced hazelnut and 100 g of dry apricots and substituted the flour with whole wheat flour.
    Perfect cookie!
    PS: You asked me about the mould for the Speculaas. I’ve just left a reply on my blog.
    XX

  2. Liz Berg says:

    Oooh, I love that you made these gluten free with hazelnut flour…a terrific idea!

  3. A beautiful cookie! :)

  4. SandraM says:

    Gluten free, that’s great. Good idea. These were a big hit at the office today and I’m sure I’ll have to make them again.

  5. Cathleen says:

    Thanks for the idea of using hazelnut flour to make them gluten free! I have a few friends that I would love to share these with. I must have made mine extra small… I got 42 cookies!

  6. I am so thankful that I live somewhere where the winters are mild in comparison to Greenland. I would eat these cookies anywhere, anytime, any day. Great job!

  7. Tammy says:

    I’ve been getting GF requests from friends, but hadn’t done any research into it, so thank you. Now I know at least one recipe where I can substitute. Thanks!

  8. saucygander says:

    yum, hazelnut nutella flavours sound great!

  9. Katie @ Counter Dog says:

    Oh, hazelnut flour! My gluten-intolerant roommate looked longingly at the container of cookies… next time, maybe I’ll try your suggestion so she can partake too. Thanks!

  10. Cher says:

    Great way to make these GF. Awesome idea!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

