Pumpernickel Loaves

This week our Tuesdays with Dorie baking group is combining unusual ingredients and making pumpernickel loaves. Dark chocolate, espresso powder, molasses, and prune lekvar blend nicely in a delicious bread recipe by contributing baker Lauren Groveman.

reuben sandwich

I made half the recipe and substituted the unsalted butter for olive oil and I skipped the shortening all together. We had a KitchenAid mediated communication with the dough. After the second rise, I refrigerated the dough and rolled and shaped it the next morning. The plan was to have Reuben sandwiches for Sunday’s lunch.

Just started reading Julia Child’s My Life in France. What are the chances that she and her husband had arrived on November 3rd at Le Havre, France – the very same day I was making one of her recipes? And also the very first meal that she describes having in Paris included oysters served with rounds of pale rye bread…

Back to Reuben sandwiches. Or should I say 3 by 3 Reuben sandwiches – three layers of sour cabbage, cashews, tempeh, and Asiago cheese topped with sprouts, red peppers, and mizuna greens on toasted pumpernickel.

Sour Cabbage and Cashew Spread

Ingredients

450 gr sour cabbage, drained well
150 gr raw cashews
3 tbs fresh dill
1 tbs apple cider vinegar
black pepper

Place ingredients in a food processor fitted with the ‘S’ blade and process until smooth.

Very delicious bread! We also tried it with tahini and honey and the agreement is that this bread is better suited for savory toppings. The recipe is lengthy but super easy and this video explains it beautifully.

11 thoughts on “Pumpernickel Loaves

  1. Oh, my gosh…what a spectacular sandwich! I think I would have enjoyed my loaf like that :)

  2. That sandwich looks like an ad in a magazine!! Beautiful! I sat this recipe out…none of us like pumpernickel and I didn’t want to waste all the ingredients necessary. See you on the next one. :)

  3. what a great photo! that sandwich looks delicious–I’ll take a bite

  4. alvarosa says:

    Now I am hungry, when I see your picture… :-) looks more than great!

  5. SandraM says:

    Great looking sandwich! This was a good bread. I put the other loaf in the freezer and will have it with spinach dip this Christmas. :)

  6. Incredible photograph. Beautiful.

  7. saucygander says:

    That is a seriously impressive photo, I want to take a bite! :-)

  8. galettista says:

    Beautiful photo of the sandwich, and it sounds fabulous.

  9. Cathleen says:

    What a fabulous photo! I feel as though I can take a bite of that sandwich. That should be used in an ad for a gourmet sandwich shop.

  10. Cher says:

    That sandwich is beautiful!

  11. Ckay says:

    “Wooooow!”, that’s what I said after your fantastic pictures popped up in my pc!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

