Cheese and Tomato Galette

Our Tuesdays with Dorie baking group made this recipe from Baking with Julia back in June. It is by contributing baker Flo Braker. Since we are lucky to have one extra Tuesday this month, I am trying to catch up on the recipes that I have missed over the summer months.

The recipe uses basic galette dough that is topped with yellow cheese, fresh mozzarella, fresh tomatoes, and basil. Sounds like pizza? Oui, mais non. C’est une galette!

ceci

After I started making the dough, I had a déjà vu that we had used this basic dough in the past. There was nothing resembling dough in my food processor. It looked like I was trying to make home-made glue… So, I kept sprinkling flour until the dough was not super sticky and was imagining turning it into a galette. I will be honest and say that I was ready for disaster. I was not sure how I will be able to stretch the dough into a circle, but it worked.

tomato galette crust

Our galette was topped with roasted cherry tomatoes drizzled with olive oil and spiced with thyme, olive tapenade, thinly sliced fresh zucchini, and asiago cheese. The final result was a super crunchy and delicious pizza, I mean galette. The crust was a little bit too buttery for my taste but the crunch factor saved the day. The galette was baked in less than 30 minutes.

We did not have a chance to test if the dough will stay crisp when the galette is at room temperature. It was gone in no time!

tomato galette green

Looking forward to another month with an extra Tuesday. What should I pick from the summer recipes? Which one was your favorite?

One thought on “Cheese and Tomato Galette

  1. Cher says:

    It does sound like a pizza on tart dough, doesn’t it?

    It looks beautiful

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

