Double Apple Bundt Cake

Have I told you how I got myself in joining the Tuesdays with Dorie baking group in February, 2012?

I have a holiday tradition. I choose a new cookbook at the beginning of each year and I explore it slowly as the year unfolds. In 2011 that was Around My French Table by Dorie Greenspan. At the beginning of 2012, still without a new cookbook, I was browsing through Dorie’s blog. I remember reading that a new baking adventure is about to begin.

That was it! I was in. I ordered the book and was able to join the group one week later.

Today is Dorie’s birthday. In honor of her birthday and all the yumminess she has brought to our home, I baked a cake. Happy Birthday, Dorie!

With the University of British Columbia Botanical Garden Apple Festival happening last weekend, it was easy to pick a seasonal recipe. How does Double Apple Bundt Cake sound? The recipe is from Baking: From My Home to Yours.

double apple bundt cake

The cake batter in addition to freshly grated apples and traditional fall spices, calls for apple butter. British Columbia’s Gala, Granny Smith, and Ambrosia apples cooked slowly in my crockpot until they transformed themselves into apple butter.

red apples

I do not use any liquid, sugar, or spices when making apple butter nor peel the apples. Once the apples are thoroughly cooked, I blend them and cook a bit more.

Off we go to the Apple Festival!

apple pieThere was apple pie, of course. But look at that pie cutting tool. Very cool!

sliced apple pie

Even the tablecloths had apples.

apple stand

Hot drinks and candied apples stand

salish tasting

Apple tastings of one of the really delicious BC apples – Salish.

bagged apples

We bought a bunch of Salish apples. We love Salish apples!

northern spy

And this is the coolest apple name e-v-e-r!

When we got back from the festival, we enjoyed slices of Double Apple Bundt Cake and warm apple cider. There is no such thing as apple overload!

apple bundt slice

I increased the amount of cinnamon in the cake recipe and soaked the raisins in Jamaican rum. The cake was delicious, moist and with so many layering aromas. We loved it!

3 thoughts on “Double Apple Bundt Cake

  1. Beautiful cake! A lovely way to wish Dorie a Happy Birthday!

  2. Cher says:

    Gorgeous cake and a lovely way to celebrate!

  3. SandraM says:

    Beautiful cake. I will definitely be trying this. I love a bundt cake!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

