Danish Braid

This week our group of dedicated bakers is braiding dough and enticing family and friends with Danish goodness. We are baking a Danish Braid, a recipe by contributing baker Beatrice Ojakangas. It is soooooo good to be back and rejoining the Tuesdays with Dorie group after a long summer without any baking!

If you are curious to find out the exact amounts of flour, yeast, and other ingredients for this recipe, please visit Bea’s web site. She has included a few recipes that could be made using the same basic Danish Pastry Dough, such as Danish Pecan Snails and Old Danish Christmas Kringle. You could even see her in action making the Danish Braid.

The dough is quite straightforward to make. It takes a few resting periods, folds and turns, and an undisclosed number of questions, such as: Is left towards the bathroom or towards the coffee machine?

I decided to make the almond and prune filling. Since we do not have a microwave, I cooked the prunes, water and sugar for the prune filling on the stove for half an hour or so. Extremely bad idea! I ended up with caramelized prunes stuck to the bottom of the saucepan… So I made the prune lekvar that we used for the Rugelach sans the walnuts. I think the two fillings were a bit too much. Next time, I will make only a fruit filling and sprinkle the pastry with chopped nuts instead.

IMG_2933

Do you see the moustache?!

IMG_2930

Thanksgiving morning was yummy with slices of Danish Braid and almond milk cappuccinos! O, yeah, I braided my hair too :)

14 thoughts on “Danish Braid

  1. Monica says:

    Beautiful Pastry! Your braids are so neat and tidy – mine were quite a bit more sloppy. I’m sorry the prune filling did not work out!

  2. that is a gorgeous braid! I actually really want try out that kringle variation she has on her website.

  3. Beautiful!!! Perfect for Thanksgiving morning!

  4. alvarosa says:

    Your braid looks extra flaky, great!

  5. SandraM says:

    Your pastry looks fantastic. This really was a good recipe. I am actually using the other half of the dough tonight…am making pinwheels. :)

  6. Hmmm…. I don’t remember the part about a few resting periods and folds and turns…. perhaps that’s why yours look so much more beautiful than mine!

  7. smarkies says:

    That is some great looking pastry! This recipe was good… :)

  8. Awesome looking braid! Loved your post especially the part about “which way was left” :)

  9. Dawn says:

    Gorgeous photos!!

  10. Cher says:

    Your loaf is absolutely gorgeous! (In my house, left is toward the pantry door!)

  11. Nice to see you back!! :) Your braid turned out so beautiful! I made my filling on the stove top and it worked out just fine. I couldn’t see running the microwave for 10 min or more haha!

  12. Katie @ Counter Dog says:

    The cross section photo is absolutely beautiful! And isn’t it nice to be baking again? This summer flew by, leaving no time for TWD recipes for me as well.

  13. Cathleen says:

    Such a beautifully perfect looking pastry! Good to know that two fillings are too much. I ended up using just an apple filling; though I have extra dough in the freezer to which I want to make a pear-cranberry version and was deciding whether I wanted to add a pastry cream.

  14. sunshine x 2 says:

    Perfect looking dough! Nice work. I bet it was perfect with almond milk cappuccinos.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

