Savarin

This week our group of dedicated bakers is busy trying to find new baking molds to our constantly expanding kitchen collections of tools and accessories. We are baking a savarin by contributing baker David Blom.

Let me just say that with the exception of baklava, I am not particularly fond of syrupy desserts. My childhood memories of savarin did not help to put me in the right baking mood. Savarins were always the last ones to be sold out in our local coffee shop and when you got one you knew that this is just not your lucky day. They were super sugary from the syrup and had that fake whipped cream rosette on top with the fake cherry…Pathetic, I know…

Yes, I was not looking forward to this recipe. I enjoyed watching the video at PBS and learning the technique of how to cut the dough when making small shaped savarins. This is my first time baking savarin and the results were quite disappointing.

savarin

The recipe does not make sufficient amount of dough. I am guessing that the amount has to be increased by 1.5 to 2 times. In the final product I could taste the egg – almost like having the crust of a fried egg. It was not even similar to the savarin dough I knew. I went through my cookbooks and these are the ingredients that are used, if you would like to experiment and try a different savarin recipe. The technique is the same, the first rising is for one hour and the second is for 30 minutes. For the dough: 0.5 cup milk, 2tbs sugar, 1 1/5 cup flour, 3 eggs, 125gr butter, 1 tbs yeast.

It was a totally whatever dessert and the one enjoyed the least from Baking with Julia. No, it did not help that I made honey syrup and sprinkled the baked savarin with pistachios. But I got a brand new Bundt cake mold :) All is good on the Western front!

8 thoughts on “Savarin

  1. Liz says:

    Well, at least it’s beautiful! I wasn’t wowed by the taste, either.

  2. Cher says:

    It is pretty AND you were able to get a new pan, so that makes is all worth it! (I used this as an excuse to buy a mini bundt pan set I’ve been eyeing for a while…)

  3. Well it looks beautiful!! We weren’t wow’ed by the flavor or consistency either. It was just ok…not a keeper for us. At least you got a new pan. :)

  4. saucygander says:

    I also got a new pan for this one (mini bundt pan)! :-) yours looks very pretty!

  5. SandraM says:

    It looks wonderful. Sorry it was a disappointment for you. I had never even heard of a savarin before I tried this recipe. To me they reminded me of a yeasted doughnut.

  6. Yeah for the new Bundt cake mold!

  7. Cathleen says:

    Your savarin is gorgeous!! Too bad it wasn’t more to your liking. I’m sure you will find something yummy to make with new pan – love getting new kitchenware. :)

  8. Ckay says:

    Sorry you did not like it – it looks wonderful, though.
    Thank you for sharing a new Savarin recipe. Would be interesting to compare the results.
    Thumbs up for the new mold!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

