Madeleines

This week our Tuesdays with Dorie group is baking the quintessential French cookies – madeleines using a traditional recipe based on a génoise cake batter.

Madeleines are quite often linked to Marcel Proust since he used one of his madeleines memories to explain the difference between voluntary and involuntary memory. Believe it or not there are actually studies being conducted that have tried to assess the accuracy of Proust’s ideas. I am ready to bet the idea to research such a topic was born in the head of a foodie researcher.

Edmund Levin in The Way the Cookie Crumbles even went on a madeleines recipe testing quest trying to find the recipe that Proust might have referred to. Come on now, don’t try to guess if the recipe in Baking with Julia by contributing baker Flo Braker made the cut!

Last year when we baked the French Strawberry Cake using the Perfect Génoise, I had to bake the cake twice because it kept deflating. This time around – not a chance! I was determined to bake the recipe only once and try to use what I have learned about génoise. A picture is worth a thousand words – cliché but so true:

madeleines_chaos

The whisk attachment – the real superstar in this recipe:

madeleines_whisk Since I could not figure out how to use the extra cup of sugar that the recipe called for, I made a lemoncello glaze from 1/4 cup icing sugar, 1 Tbs butter, and 1 Tbs Meyer Lemon Limoncello. Also, added some crushed cardamom to the cake batter.

The not so pétit madelines:

madeleines

Quite dry but flavorful, this is the perfect cookie to dip in your hot drink of choice. It would be great in a tiramisu type of desert. I still prefer biscotti though!

If you are trying to decide between madeleines and biscotti for yourself, please visit Katie and Amy of Counter Dog who are the hosts for this week’s recipe.

13 thoughts on “Madeleines

  1. Your madeleines look lovely, I like your lemoncello glaze!!!!
    This recipe doesn’t convince me for madeleines, I think it taste more like a ladyfingers!!
    So it’s not too bad, I’ll keep this recipe as a base for dessert!!

  2. LOVE the drizzle. Yeah, it wasn’t very clear what to do with the icing sugar. I just sprinkled it over my baked madeleines :)

  3. I wasn’t sure what to do with the sugar either! Love your idea…they look delicious :)

  4. Cher says:

    Drizzle – always a good idea.

    Great looking Madeleines. I like the picture with the whisk!

  5. saucygander says:

    The glaze looks and sounds great! I liked these with tea, as I agree they were on the dry side. After reading the comments on TWD I just ignored the sugar…

  6. The drizzle on your Madeleines certainly looks very pretty – and I also like the “whisk” picture quite a bit.

  7. Yum…limonchello glaze! And simply beautiful Madeleines!!

  8. Cathleen says:

    Cardamom is never a bad idea – and the limoncello drizzle sounds fabulous. I’m jumping on the whisk train – great pic!

  9. teaandscones says:

    lemon glaze. good idea. the mads definitely needed something. I forgot about the confectioners sugar. Would have been good just dusted over the cookies.

  10. Love the glaze. I’m with you on the recipe. This just spurs me on to finding a better one.

  11. Elaine says:

    They look lovely with the glaze drizzled over them. I think these lacked flavor so it was a good idea to make the glaze and add the cardamom to the batter. I don’t like sugar on my madeleines so I just ignored the extra cup of sugar.

  12. Teresa says:

    Love the glaze and that you added a little cardamom to the batter, too. Thanks for the link to the Slate article, too.

  13. sbb jen says:

    Holy moly! Limoncello glaze?!?! That’s sounds freakin awesome! What a great idea! Your madeleines look very lovely! Great job!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

