Pizza with Onion Confit

Our Tuesdays with Dorie baking group is starting 2013 with a pizza recipe. Not an ordinary pizza, but one that has onion confit as a main topping instead of the more traditional tomato sauce! Or should I say Confit D’Oignon?

The original recipe does not specify the types of onions that should be used for the confit. I used equal amounts of yellow and red onions. Shallots and leeks would be excellent also. Red wine and Crème de Casis added a much appreciated flavor to the orange marmalade. White wine or Cognac would be worthy replacements.

pizza_onion_confit

 

And a half-eaten slice featuring the crust:

pizza_onion_confit_slice

Since one of my favorite winter salads by the name of Beets Caviar is made of caramelized onions, steamed beets, and pickles I decided to use a similar toping combo for the pizza. Sunday dinner was delicious with Onion Confit Pizza topped with steamed beets, pickles, goat cheese, and walnuts! And of course a glass of young pinot noir…

Please visit Paul from The Boy Can Bake who is hosting the recipe for this pizza of Provence.

17 thoughts on “Pizza with Onion Confit

  1. Patty says:

    Beets! What a good idea.

  2. Sara says:

    Nicely done! I like how thin you got your crust. I would have liked that, but I ran out of space on my pizza stone. I’ll try it that way next time. Lovely job on this one!

  3. SandraM says:

    Looks great! Love the addition of beets. And I like your thin crust.

  4. Your family has such gourmet taste! We were overwhelmed with the confit haha! Fun to try though :) Beautiful pictures!

  5. Your pizza looks nice!!! Beets is an interesting addition, I’m sure it was delicious!
    I’m so agree about the glass of pinot noir!!! Well done!

  6. I really like the idea of adding shallots or leeks to the confit, I might try that!

  7. beets pizza–i love it!

  8. Andrea says:

    What an intriguing choice of additional toppings – the colors and the tastes must have been wonderful!

  9. Well, I don’t know about the whole beets-thing but kudos for the most interesting toppings! Blessings, Catherine

  10. Your pizza sounds amazing!
    I love the combination of toppings you used

  11. Great looking pizza! It sounds amazing! I haven’t made this one yet…and when I do it won’t be with onions on top…my husband doesn’t eat onions!

  12. Elaine says:

    Steamed beets and pickles. Sounds interesting and delicious. it sure looks great!

  13. Love your choice of toppings and your crust looks perfect.

  14. Looks great! Will make shorty…

  15. Cher says:

    Wow – beets, pickles and onions – what an interesting combination. It looks very flavorful!

  16. Cathleen says:

    Your topping sounds delicious! Beets are the husbands favorite – he would have liked this.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

